Pokemon Sword and Shield Expansion Pass News Coming Tomorrow

We’ll get more details on Pokemon Sword and Shield’s Expansion Pass tomorrow, June 2 at 6am Pacific / 9am Eastern / 2pm UK / 11pm AEST.

Revealed in a tweet by the Japanese Pokemon Twitter account (below), no details were given of what could be revealed. However, with the first expansion for the latest Pokemon games – The Isle of Armor – due to arrive by the end of June, it seems likely we’d get a release date.

The Pokemon Sword and Shield expansions will include The Isle of Armor and The Crown Tundra (due this Fall), and each will add a new open area to explore. They’ll also add new legendary Pokemon, new regular Pokemon, new Galarian forms, and dozens of returning Pokemon that were previously unavailable to catch.

It marks a new step for the Pokemon franchise – which has previously preferred to release new versions of the same game, or semi-sequels. We think this is a very good next step.

We awarded Pokemon Sword and Shield a 9.3 review, and since named it one of the best Nintendo Switch games.

[ignvideo url=”https://www.ign.com/videos/2019/11/13/pokemon-sword-and-pokemon-shield-review”]

[poilib element=”accentDivider”]

Joe Skrebels is IGN’s Executive Editor of News. Follow him on Twitter.

Source: IGN.com Pokemon Sword and Shield Expansion Pass News Coming Tomorrow