Gamescom Getting a Geoff Keighley-Hosted Announcement Show

Gamescom 2019 will kick off with Opening Night Live, a new livestreamed show hosted by Geoff Keighley.

Opening Night Live will include “announcements from major game publishers and independent developers, world premieres of new game footage and special guest appearances from the stars of the gaming industry.”

The event will take place on Monday August 19, at 11am Pacific, 2pm Eastern, 7pm UK (that’s 6am AEST on August 20).

Gamescom has traditionally held an opening event, but this will presumably replace that show. Keighley also hosts The Game Awards and E3 Coliseum, which might be seen as something like blueprints for Opening Night Live.

While E3 has traditionally been the epicentre of the gaming announcement calendar, Gamescom has remained the world’s most-attended games show and, with some big names dropping out of the LA event this year, it may be that some are preferring the German show.

Continue reading…

Source: IGN.com Gamescom Getting a Geoff Keighley-Hosted Announcement Show